E50P Type Rating – Intro and Familizarization

Introduction

This is the first in a series of articles in which I will try to describe the process of obtaining a virtual type rating for the Embraer EMB-500, more commonly known as the Embraer Phenom 100. The oficial ICAO type name is E50P.

The training programme that I will be following was completely set up and built by me only. I don’t have any idea of whether this reflects the process of obtaining an actual real type rating in any way. Although I would have loved to follow a real type rating training programme, I couldn’t find one. I could, however, find a report by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), describing the flight crew qualifications requirements for a type rating on this aircraft. Based on the content of this document, I have created my own training programme, which I have tried to keep as simple as possible for two reasons:

  1. The actual airplane we are going to fly (Carenado‘s version for Prepar3d) does not accurately simulate many of the systems on the aircraft; and
  2. There isn’t as much documentation available as I would have liked. Carenado’s documentation for this aircraft is severely lacking. But we’ll get to that later.

Setup

I will be using the Lockheed Martin’s Prepar3d v2.5 as my simulation platform for this training. As mentioned above, I will be using an add-on from Carenado, which I will also take the opportunity to review during the training sessions. Finally, I’m planning to perform all the training flights on the Canary Islands, in the Atlantic Ocean.

As far as documentation, my main source of information is, of course, the documentation that comes with Carenado’s package. This is not enough, however. Carenado’s documentation for the avionics suite (the Prodigy 1000, based on Garmin’s G1000 suite) is almost of no use. Regarding aircraft systems, there is no documentation available. Normal and emergency procedures are documentated at least, and these two documents are my main source of information and reference for the training. Performance documentation is also limited mostly to some cruise performance tables. There isn’t a reference sheet with reference speeds anywhere in the documentation, which would have been very useful.

The training plan

You can find the training plan I have created for this type rating in the link below. It is a PDF document that you can download and follow on your own, if you want (If you do, I’d love to hear about your experience in the comments below!).

E50P Training Plan

Download E50P Training Plan

You can see on the complete file that the total training duration is planned for about 21h, with 17h being in-flight training. Whether this is a good estimation or not, still remains to be seen…

Familizarization flight

The familiarization flight was included in the training plan to help me get a basic understanding and knowledge of how the plane works. In real-life, this probably would have been a flight on the right seat, with an instructor in control of the aircraft for pretty much the whole flight. For simulation purposes, I decided to watch a series of youtube videos, which would help me get a good idea of how the aircraft behaves and looks like on our simulation. Here are some suggestions for that:

Credits of the videos go to FS Mania (@FS_MaNiA_316 on Twitter).

Next steps

I hope to continue with this qualification programme within the coming days. I hope I can find the time to write some notes about the next sessions (ground school day 1 and day 2), where I will try to dive in the papers and get a firm grip of the procedures before actually jumping in the aircraft.

Follow me on Twitter for updates and feel free to leave your comments below.

Leave your opinion

